A big week!

I finally can share some fun news that will be taking us back to Michigan! This week I accepted an offer to be the Amazon account representative! It was effective immediately but there will be lots of overlap between by NC/SC territory responsibilities and my new responsibilities. I let my retailers know this week that it was a pleasure working with them for the past seven years and the sales trainee that has been traveling with me will be their point of contact going forward. For a few days, before telling my retailers, I was a little overwhelmed because I was already getting a lot of emails that involve tasks in my new role but still emails from all of my NC and SC retailers. It was nice to pass the torch so that I could focus on learning what my new role will entail.

In my new role I will be responsible for managing Amazon’s business and also my support team in Carhartt that keeps such a large retailer moving forward. There’s a lot to learn and I’m learning from the best because my new manager has been their account representative since we opened them about 2.5 years ago. He knows full well how steep the learning curve is and so far has been a great coach with an incredible amount of knowledge.

Next week will be my last week of travel. I am headed to Michigan for two days to see new products then will fly with the team to Seattle where I will present the line to Amazon. I’m jumping right in and already excited about my new role. Part of the role does require me to be in the Dearborn, MI office roughly 50% of my time. Some weeks it may be more or less and otherwise I will still get to work from home. We had some flexibility on the move so we have agreed that by April 1st it can be expected that I will be available to be in the Dearborn office. Anthony and I area excited about this next step although it will be bittersweet to leave our friends and family here in NC.

We’ve set up a meeting with our real estate agent to talk about the next steps in terms of selling out house, etc. Knowing we’ll have a newborn in a couple months we want to start taking care of any maintanence that she may recommend (minor painting, etc.) that may help us sell the house. We’ll get some direction as to when we should list the house, etc. Then comes the other side of finding a house in MI but thankfully we’ve got an idea already of the areas we want to buy.

I’ll leave you with some 32 week pictures! My appointment went great yesterday and as always everything is “normal”. I forgot to ask but I’m pretty sure baby is now head down as I’ve felt kicking up towards my ribs! I will have two more appointments two weeks apart then I will start going every week.

32 weeksfromside

32 weeksfromfront

We started our baby classes last night so in the next post I’ll share some things we learned!

One thought on “A big week!

Leave a Reply

